Abby Turns 2!

On May 22nd, our little girl turned 2!  Where did the past two years go?  I feel like I was just planning her 1st birthday party a little bit ago.  This year we kept it low-key and had family over to our (still temporary) humble abode.  It was rainbow-themed so it was quite colorful and Abby had a lot of fun!  Thanks to Nana, Pop Pop, Granma, Chris, Jennifer, and Julie for coming!  And to Grampy and Barb who came the following weekend!

     

Good morning birthday girl!

 

I had some fun craft time.

 

(Non-alcoholic) jello shots, rainbow fruit kabobs (kabab), rainbow lollipops, skittles, peanut M&Ms, fruit salad, rainbow goldfish crackers…

I also made pulled pork in the crock pot.  It was the first time I made it and it was really, really good!  Such a simple thing to make.  Took some pork, root beer, and bbq sauce.  Deeeeeeelish.  Good thing I didn’t try to make rainbow colored pork though.

Abby got some really nice presents from everyone and she had a great time pulling them all out of the guest room and opening them one by one. 

Since it was rainbow-themed, I had decided I wanted to make Abby a rainbow tie-dye cake.  I saw something on Pinterest so I followed that.  Needless to say, it did NOT come out like what I had pinned.  I think it’s because a) I used vanilla cake instead of white, b) I ran out of vegetable oil and had to substitute with some corn oil, and c) I just wasn’t as artsy when dealing with the icing.  The colors were much more muted compared to what I went off of.  Oh well, it was still fun!

 

 

You might think, “That’s pretty cool, not too bad!”  Yeah, I won’t share the picture where I got the idea.  😉

 

Again, I won’t show you the inspirational picture.  This came out looking quite pastel. 

 

2 years!  Little big girl!

 

   

 

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Family, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

