Cherrylicious Blossom Festival

Earlier this month, no –  make that late last month (time is f-l-y-i-n-g), we took the opportunity to drive north to Washington, D.C.  to partake in the popular Cherry Blossom Festival.  We’ve been to DC before but I’ve never been there to see the cherry blossom trees and experience any of the month+ long festivites.  I’ve always heard people talk about it before but I just thought – eh, trees that are budding.  No biggie.  But now that we live closer and I’ve heard more about it, I wanted to go and see what all the buzz was about.

Peak time arrived earlier this season so we wanted to take advantage of it.  I took a 1/2 personal day and away we went with Abby and my parents.  The first part of the day was cloudy, almost rainy, and not very spring-like but in watching the forecast, we knew it was going to spiff up to be a beautiful day.  It worked in our favor because it was not super busy or hot.

Well, I must say, it is much more than just trees that are budding.  It’s one thing to see it in pictures but to be there in person really is scenic.  The cherry blossoms were beautiful and I didn’t realize just how many there were until we walked around the whole Tidal Basin and stopped at a number of national monuments along the way.  Paddleboaters were on the water, people from all over the world were walking around taking in our nation’s capitol, and it was simply a fun, spring day.  We didn’t experience any actual festivities but I saw in the schedule that there are concerts, performances, parades, contests, food, etc.  I am glad we got to see those budding trees.  Abby had fun too!

Enjoy the following slideshow (about 20 pictures)! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Family, Fests and Events, Nature and Scenery, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

