Bunnies, Baskets, Eggggggggs

I hope everyone had a great Easter! 

This was Abby’s 2nd Easter and first time we got to hide eggs for her to find.  Nana and Pop Pop hid eggs for her at their house on Friday and then Granma came down to our place from PA for the weekend which was fun.  Abby got Easter baskets from Granma and the Easter Bunny (chocolate, clothes, headbands, books, bendy bunnies, Max & Ruby stuff, Easter window gel-clings, flowers, chirping chick, snacks, fingerpaint, etc.) and also went on a hunt for plastic eggs in the house.  It was a bit distracting though in the house with stuff everywhere so later in the morning Janet and I took Abby to Tapp Field of the Wilderness and made our own little Easter egg hunt there.  That was much better and Abby had fun searching for the eggs and putting them in the basket.

 

 

 

 

 

I had also boiled a dozen eggs for dyeing but we never got around to it.  Now I’ll be having egg salad all week (yummy)!  I was a master chef for Sunday night’s Easter dinner.  I say that in a joking but for real way – I am no master chef but my meal came out pretty darn good!  I made a 7 lb. apple cider-glazed ham in which the warm apple cider glaze was delish.  It consists of apple cider (duh), honey, cider vinegar, dijon mustard, butter, chili powder, and apple pie spice.  I also made cheddar cheese scalloped potatoes, glazed orange carrots (butter, OJ concentrate, brown sugar, parsley), and baked asparagus with balsamic soy butter sauce.  Oh and we also had salad (spinach, strawberries, walnuts, crumbled goat cheese) and Janet had made a warm pineapple filling and a carrot cake (yum yum yum)!  All in all it was very good and I’m looking forward to making more baked asparagus – the few times I’ve had it they were not baked so they were gross and mushy.  Baked is much better.

 

Hopefully for next Easter we’ll be moved and more settled so we can figure out a church to go to for Easter service.  🙂         

 

 

 

 

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Family, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This Easter feast description is literally making my tummy growl!! It sounds like a fun time!! 🙂 This pic of Mom hugging Abby is so sweet.

Leave a Reply

