Food De Fa Fa

I’ve been on somewhat of a cooking / baking spree lately and am having fun trying new recipes.  Our whole household is just getting over a nasty cold so I haven’t been out and about too much and thought it’s been a good time as any to try new meals.  First Abby got a cold, most likely when she went to the Dr. for a regular check-up.  There was a little boy in the waiting room coughing all over the place.  😦  Abby seemed to pick it up and a few days later she was coughing and sniffling.  This was her first cold ever so I feel like she’s been pretty lucky.  Then of course Peter and I got sick and it was a hard cold to shake off.  I did however, finally pick up a cool mist vaporizor that has been put to good use.  We’re much better but it’s still not totally out of our system.  My mom also got sick and my dad is well on his way of getting it last (sorry guys!).

 

So, I know there are those out there who make fun of people who take pictures of their food – me included at times.  Well I’m jumping on the bandwagon for a blog post, in order to display some of my recent meal creations.  Don’t get all excited – it’s not gourmet or anything super duper fancy.  I’ve just never been big on cooking and I felt like sharing some of my creations since it’s a bit new for me.

 

Honey-Mustard Roasted Chicken and Squash   

 

 

 

 

This meal included chicken breast, butternut squash, red onion, honey-mustard dressing, salt, rosemary leaves (crushed), garlic powder, and sugar snap peas.  Place chicken in baking pan w/ nonstick cooking spray and arrange squash and onion around chicken.  In bowl, combine dressing, salt, rosemary, and garlic powder blending well.  Brush chicken and veggies w/ about half of the dressing mixture.  Bake at 425 for 20 minutes.  Remove from oven, stir veggies, add snap peas to pan.  Brush chicken and veggies w/ remaining dressing.  Bake an additional 20-25 minutes or until chicken is tender.  Garnish w/ fresh herb sprigs. 

 

This one was really good and I finally was able to use the dang squash that I’ve had sitting around on the counter for ages.

 

Apple Cinnamon Muffins

 

 

 

 

These were good warmed up and with a bit of butter for a breakfast snack.

 

Shrimp and Sausage Paella

 

 

 

This meal included lean turkey Italian sausage, water, seasoned Spanish yellow rice mix w/ saffron, quartered artichoke hearts, sweet peas, diced tomatoes with Italian-style herbs, medium shrimp and we also included salad and bread.

 

This was so easy to make and it turned out really good!  We had a bunch of leftovers which was good for Peter to take to work (I’m not great with leftovers haha).

 

Home-Style Meatloaf with Sweet Maple Glaze

 

 

Pretty typical meatloaf.  This included: lean ground turkey or beef, plain bread crumbs, dry onion soup mix, pepper, milk, egg, ketchup, and maple syrup.  It was good that night but the leftovers got too dry and it had to be thrown out.

 

Banana-Strawberry Smoothie

 

 

I love having smoothies every now and then, to get some fruit intake if I’ve been bad.  This just includes 1 banana, a bunch of strawberries, yogurt, milk, and ice.  Best served in Victory pint glass.

 

Broiled Tilapia Parmesean

 

 

I just made this one last night.  Peter and I both really liked it, but then again I’m just getting over my cold and can’t taste things 100% yet.  It was a quick meal to make and I added red skin seasoned potatoes and green beans.  Abby liked all three as well.  The tilapia topping included parmesean cheese, butter, mayo, lemon juice, basil, black pepper, onion powder, and celery salt.  Fish was boiled 2-3 minutes on each side, then another 2-3 minutes with the parmesean topping on the top only. 

 

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies 

 

 

 

These cookies are good (as far as I can taste, given my stupid cold) and are very soft because of the pumpkin.  Includes flour, sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, pumpkin, baking soda, egg, vegetable oil, chocolate chips, walnuts. 

 

Tonight is my husband’s birthday and his sister is coming to visit from PA so I’ll be making some Mexican Fiesta type foods for our lil’ celebration.  I’ll take some pics to continue with round 2 of food blogging.  At least I am following one of my resolutions, yay!

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on January 21, 2012, in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Fan of flight of the conchords? These look absolutely wonderful!

  2. Thank you! Yes, I’m a fan. 🙂 I went with this blog title though, instead of “Getting Lewd With The Food” haha.

Leave a Reply

