You Say You Want A Resolution

Christmas and New Years has come and gone, whoosh!  Holidays were great… we traveled to and from VA to PA  twice in one week and also had our 3rd Christmas family gathering in Virginia.  Abby enjoyed her 2nd Christmas and is getting the idea more.  We went to the National Christmas Center in Lancaster, PA and she loved Santa again.  I wonder if she’ll love him next year.  She is kind of obsessed with Santa and snowmen this year!  I had lots of time off from work so it was wonderful to hang out with family and be with Peter and Abby. 

New Year’s Eve was my Dad’s birthday.  He was born 4 minutes before midnight.  “Congratulations, it’s a boy!  Happy New Year!”  To celebrate, we went out to dinner at Famous Dave’s (BBQ) and then to Sweet Frog for some really yummy fat-free frozen yogurt.  Then Peter, Abby, and I returned to the Wilderness, put Abby to bed, put on comfy clothes, read books and watched Dick Clark’s Rockin’ Eve.  I had thought about opening some wine but changed my mind.  Alcohol-free NYE!  After the ball dropped, we pretty much went to bed.  Next year we will try not to be so wild and crazy.  We need to tone it down.

 

The next day, I realized I had not seen a single mummer on tv.  Later on, I realized it’s because they’re not shown in Virginia apparently.  Oh those crazy mummers.

So around this time of year, many people come up with their New Year’s resolutions and/or goals they can work towards.  Usually I do this, sometimes I don’t.  I like the idea of a fresh start with a new year.  I’ve come up with some resolutions/goals for this year.  Let’s see how it goes.

  • My main one is to save money where I can.  We are still trying to sell our house in PA and the housing market is a bit ridunkulous right now.  While it stinks to be paying a hefty mortgage each month for a house no one is living in (miss you house!), we are lucky to be in our temp house currently, which is no mortgage/no rent (but boy oh boy I cannot wait to get some more space and move into our own, forever home).  However we’ll have to start paying for our storage soon and eventually some kind of rental fee for where we are.  We are also fortunate that my job has allowed me to work from home since we’ve moved.  By not commuting, that has saved us money and woo to the hoo, I don’t have to wear stupid work clothes!  That is definitely one way I save – by not having to buy clothes or shoes, for work or casual.  I am in need of some new kicks but I can easily hold off awhile longer yet.  I also don’t plan on taking any big trips this year – more smaller trips if anything or day trips.  I’ll probably save most vacation time for our pending move.  One good thing is our electric bill the last two months in a row were $0 (up in PA).  Our electric is still turned on (low), but I’m still not sure how two months were $0.  I’ll take it!  One of the main ways I’m planning to save money is to not eat out as much and if we do go out, get something small and cheap and never order anything to drink besides water (unless we’re going to a brewery, well then…).  And that takes us to my next resolution/goal.
  • Get better at making lunches and dinners at home.  I don’t have a problem looking for and finding new recipes and I (usually) don’t have a problem with the actual cooking (I am referring to my willingness to cook, not my cooking skills).  My main problem is planning ahead and finding the time to plan the meals and make sure I have what I need and/or prepped ahead of time.  I should print out a calendar page and plan a few weeks of meals ahead of time and get a binder or something.  Seems so simple doesn’t it?  Ahhh…
  • Well, another obvious goal is to SELL OUR HOUSE in PA.  Brick cape cod with a white picket fence anyone?  Upside-down St. Joseph in the ground must be water-logged or frozen… he ain’t workin. 
  • The subsequent goal to the one listed above is to buy a house in VA.  Maybe another blog entry could be about my house wish list.
  • I’d also like to improve my minimalizing, reducing, recycling, etc.  I once saw a video about a family of four who lived a very minimalistic life and after one year, were able to hold their very small amount of actual garbage in just two hands.  Everything else was either recycled, reused, put in a compost, etc.  It was pretty extreme and I know I can’t go that far but I’d like to simplify where I can, aim to be less wasteful, and so on.  My ranger husband is a good person to live with in this regard because he’s already great at most of this. 
  • I’d like to be better about staying in touch with friends and family.  I want to get back to sending more snail mail and cute little cards and notes and pictures, rather than email all of the time.  It’s still fun to get stuff in the mail.  I’m not much of a phone talker so I like to communicate by writing.
  • Learn some sort of new (inexpensive) craft/hobby.  Haven’t given too much thought to this one yet.
  • Enjoy our first full year in the state of lovers! 
  • Be a good mommy and wife (this goes without saying though).      
About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Food, Moving, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

