My Top Albums of 2011

  • The Black Keys (Brothers)

I’ve played this over and over and over.  Such a great album.  An added bonus is that the CD changes from black to white when cold/hot, haha. 

Favorites:  Tighten Up, Too Afraid To Love You, The Go Getter, Unknown Brother (I might as well list all of the songs, I love this album!)

  • Coldplay (Mylo Xyloto)

I’ve never not liked a Coldplay album.  While this isn’t my favorite out of all of them (I think X&Y is, or Parachutes), it’s still a good, solid Colplay-esque set.  Saw them live twice.   

Favorites:  Paradise, Major Minus, Up With The Birds, Princess Of China 

  • Adele (21)

Adele is so talented and has such a great voice.  She seems so much older/mature for her age.  Luckily, she’ll be around for a long time then for us to enjoy more good music from her.

Favorites:  Rolling In The Deep, Rumour Has It, Set Fire To The Rain, He Won’t Go, Love Song, Someone Like You

  • Foster The People (Torches)

This is such a fun, upbeat album.  It all started with Pumped Up Kicks and I got hooked over the summer.

Favorites:  Helena Beat, Pumped Up Kicks, Call It What You Want, Houdini, Miss You, Broken Jaw

  • Maroon 5 (Hands All Over)

I’ve always been a M5 fan and saw them live twice.  There are a lot of catchy, upbeat songs on this album.  Abby’s favorite song is Moves Like Jagger and she has some awesome dance moves too.

Favorites:  Give A Little More, Don’t Know Nothing, Get Back In My Life, Moves Like Jagger, Last Chance, Misery (acoustic version) 

  • The Black Keys (El Camino)

This was recently released and I don’t have it yet, but I’ve listened to the previews soo many times.  I love it and can’t wait to hear the entire album.  These guys are amazing.

Favorites:  Dead And Gone, Gold On The Ceiling, Sister, Nova Baby, Mind Eraser

  • Weezer (Hurley; Bonus Tracks)

I haven’t listened to this lately but I remember playing it a lot in early 2011 to and from work.  I definitely prefer older Weezer (Blue album, Pinkerton, etc.) but I enjoyed this too.

Favorites:  Memories, Unspoken, Where’s My Sex?, Smart Girls, Represent (Rocked Out Mix)

  • Red Hot Chili Peppers (I’m With You)

Yet another album I don’t actually have (yet) but RHCP never disappoints.  I still remember when Under the Bridge was released in ’91 or ’92 and I was drawn in.  Anthony Kiedis running with his long hair in the b&w video is still clear in my mind.  About two years later, Soundgarden put out Black Hole Sun which was another favorite of mine.  I like early-mid 90’s music!!

Favorites:    Monarchy Of Roses, Ethiopia, Look Around, The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie, Did I Let You Know, Police Station (for some reason I can imagine Jermaine from Flight of the Conchords singing these verses), Even You Brutus?

 

 

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great choices! I love Foster the People too. Not sure if you heard these bands already but some others you might like:

    Sleigh Bells
    Matt & Kim
    Athlete
    Florence & The Machine
    Colin Hay

  1. Pingback: Some 2012 Music Faves « Virginia Is For Maugles

Leave a Reply

