The Sunken Road

Sometimes I jump from one thing to another with no rhyme or reason.  This post is about a trip we had taken to the Sunken Road in Fredericksburg, but it was about a month ago when we were there.  You should see the amount of pictures I have saved on my computer from September alone.  It was a busy month.

 

The Sunken Road is an area where Confederate troops lined up in defense during the Battle of Fredericksburg, December 1862 as part of the Civil War.  The Battle of Fredericksburg was very one-sided and there was a much bigger loss to the Union than to the Confederates.  As usual, the history lesson ends there.  Good lord, I hope you didn’t come here expecting some kind of accurate history blog.

 

And roll the pictures!

 

 

  Abby enjoyed playing with Daddy’s ranger hat while he gave us a tour:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on October 9, 2011, in Nature and Scenery, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

