Cravin’ Carl’s

We’ve tried a number of places to eat at so far, out and about in our new town. 

 

One of the places I was most looking forward to is Carl’s.  I first learned that this was a definite place to try from my friend Erica and that it had been featured on the Food Network.  It’s an old-fashioned roadside ice-cream stand that’s been around since 1947.  They serve only three flavors – chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry but they also have sundaes, milkshakes, and some other tashty treats.  The place is known to have long lines (but it moves fast!).  I had a simple chocolate ice-cream cone which was very refreshing.

 

   

Similar to the topic of ice-cream, we also tried Crave – a cute frozen yogurt shop in Central Park of Fredericksburg.  I’ve been to a very similar place called Kiwi back in Collegeville but I liked Crave better, even if only for the decor.  Crave has a wall full of frozen yogurt flavors that you serve yourself.  Then you can add syrups, fruits, and toppings galore.  You pay per ounce.  I tried Strawberries Dipped in Chocolate, Cheesecake, Triple Fudge, and Chocolate Peanut Butter (no toppings).  I probably got the least healthy out of all the flavors but most of them said low fat or fat free so hey, it’s ok.  My favorite was the Strawberries Dipped in Chocolate.  Abby enjoyed the trippy music and strange orbs throughout the place.

 

 

 

 

I’m very pleased that there is a Wegmans here in Central Park.  I’m a big fan of the store itself as well as the salad bar(s) and many options for meals there, and the organic section.  Plus, there is a humongo wine section in the store as well as the beer.  This one is slightly different from my favorite one in Collegeville.  Instead of having a Pub restaurant, it has a seafood bar where you can order items off a menu.  It has a pretty good salad bar but the winner still goes to Collegeville for that.  Here, there is a BBQ station.  That’s what I tried last time we were there (pulled pork, mac n’ cheese, and hush puppies).  It was ok but I think next time I’ll go back to the standard salad bar.

 

I love me some Wegmans (but I’ll miss Wholefoods!)

 

 

The other night, we walked around downtown Fredericksburg since it was such a nice evening.  For dinner we decided to try Castiglia’s on William St.  We dined outside on the sidewalk where they had a fine mist spraying down.  I had the manicotti (which was only $9.99) and came with a salad and bread.  It was SO GOOD.  This place was great and I loved the outdoor atmosphere and prices.  Abby enjoyed some of my manicotti.  We’ll definitely be returning.

 

 

 

Tonight we tried a placed called Salsarita’s Fresh Cantina.  It reminded me of a Qdoba/Mexico/Chipotle type of place but you can get beer for a bevvie and there’s a bar inside.  Again, we decided to eat outside since it was a nice night.  I had a grilled chicken taco salad and Peter had chicken tacos w/ chips and queso.  Abby enjoyed some rice and beans.  Sophie was just across the street getting bathed and pampered at Petco while we ate.

 

 

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on September 15, 2011, in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I would dominate that BBQ station. Also Crave. We need to visit.

Leave a Reply

