Hurricane Irene 2011

So here we are, post-Hurricane Irene.  I really was not buying into all the hype the media was portraying on tv about how bad it would be.  For some reason I just did not expect much and luckily, not much happened in our area.  I haven’t been outside of the house yet but from what I can tell we have some branches down, some water in the basement (manageable), and power is on.  Unfortunately I did see that others have much more flooding and trees down so while I know it was a serious storm, I just find that today, a lot of the newscasts are saying that it wasn’t AS bad as they were expecting.  And that is a good thing.  My alma mater is the hurricanes (or, “Canes”) – I can handle it.

In preparation last night in case the power did go out (and potentially for 10-12 days like some news stations were saying), I wanted to run the dishwasher and get some wash done beforehand, so that I didn’t have loads of dirty laundry sitting around for our move this week.  The dishwasher got done but a load of Abby’s laundry stopped part-way through when the power went out.  It went on and off maybe about 4 times but it wasn’t anything horrible.  I had to finish the dryer this morning.  Abby had her hurricane outfit on, just in case:

Abby slept through the night and was not affected by the noise of the rain or wind.  Maybe she will take after me and love storms!  I had my headlamp, camping lantern, candles and flashlights all ready just in case.  Only needed/used the headlamp.  While the power was out and after Abby went to bed, I relaxed in bed watching Sunshine Cleaning on my laptop and drank some Chateau St. Nicholas wine.  When I woke up, it was light out but my clock said 3:45am so I was really confused at first in my haze of just waking up, but then I remembered about the power.

 

Sophie was not phased by the storm either:

I got some more post-it noting done yesterday so that was good.  My light in my closet doesn’t work right now so I had to use my headlamp for that too – that thing comes in handy!

Peter reported that all was ok in Virginia in the Wilderness (the area where we’ll be living is actually “the Wilderness”).  He lost power for a bit but nothing major.  The temp house is around a lot of trees but nothing came down.  His Amtrak train got cancelled and he’ll get reimbursed but luckily he’s still able to get home tonight!  Whew.  I was afraid that was going to put a damper on some of our move plans.  

Scratch that, he’s home NOW!  Wooo hooooo!

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on August 28, 2011, in Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hahahaha I love how sophie had her head under the bed!

Leave a Reply

