Beer, Cat Transporting, and Post-Its

This past Tuesday I had a happy hour at Appalachian Brewery in Collegeville.  IMS happy hours are just not what they used to be.  There were definitely some good times before a) people left and got other jobs, b) people moved away, c) before our office location changed to C’ville, and d) before babies.  Laura M. reminded me of some HH memories this past Sunday when we had dinner at Wholefoods and it made me chuckle.  🙂 

Anyhow, I ended up staying at ABC from 5:15 – 9pm and had 2 Water Gap Wheats, Artie’s Spin Dip, and The Vermonter.  Peter came with Abby and she was a good girl and held out pretty long.  Todd and Laura came by also and it was good to see them before the big move.  We even got some select homebrews from Todd with awesome beer bottle labels. 

 

Abby became a Broncos fan that night.

I also had lunch with my team members on Wednesday at Olive Garden.  I tried the Lasagna Rollata al Forno and between that, the bottomless salad and breadsticks, I seriously was in heaven and left with a very happy belly.  I found a new favorite dish and can now retire my “boring” fettucine alfredo plate. 

Going back to beer for a second, I discovered that we still had 20 bottles of beer in the fridge at home, to either consume before the move or we’d have to give them away or let them go to waste.  Beer go to waste?!  Nooo!!!  Here I am working very hard in order to get ready for the move:

In other move news, Peter headed back to Virginia yesterday evening but this time he had a companion with him in the car – Nacho!  Nacho hates the car and hasn’t been in it probably since we moved from the apartment in Hatfield.  She tends to pee, poop, and/or barf (or some combination thereof) while in her carrier but luckily all worked out ok and Nacho made it safe and sound with only some pee in the carrier.  Peter had to deal with some intense meowing during the drive but she calmed down somewhat around Baltimore.  I can’t believe my cat is settled in our new home before I am! 

 

I can’t be settled quite yet because I am back here at the house slapping post-it notes all over the place so the movers know what goes to storage and what goes to the temp house.  Luckily we don’t have to pack since the movers will cover that but I still need to mark things and organize.  Abby likes pulling the post-it notes off that are within her reach. 

So that’s that.  This weekend Hurricane Irene is expected to make an appearance in our general area.  I’m sure that will be a good time.  First it was an earthquake along the eastcoast (originating only 30 miles from where our temp house is), now it’s a hurricane.  I love a good storm but I’m hoping this doesn’t affect our plans since Peter’s taking Amtrak up Sunday evening.  Fingers are crossed.  🙂

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Beer, Food, Moving and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. beer is good for hurricanes too! Welcome to VA!

  2. we always see that lasagna thing on the menu but haven’t gotten it, good to know it’s tasty. we love the olive garden way too much, and hoagie just got a gift card, boo ya!

Leave a Reply

