Welcome to Virginia Is For Maugles

Hi and thanks for stopping by!  This blog is my attempt to document where I’m at in my life and to keep in touch with those who will no longer be as close to us as we move from Pennsylvania to Virginia. 

This is me, Jenn:

This is my husband Peter:

This is our daughter Abigail:

And these are our furry children, Sophie (dog) and Nacho (cat):

To provide some background:  My husband and I have been married almost 4 years and have a 15 month old daughter.  We’ve always lived in Pennsylvania growing up (only exception is Peter going to college for a bit in Virginia) and we met in high school.  Peter was a park ranger at Valley Forge National Historical Park.  An opportunity came along in which he accepted a new job as a park ranger at Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park.  Thus began our transition from PA to VA! 

To add to the mix, my parents (who have also only ever lived in Pennsylvania their entire lives), are also moving to Virginia.  They’re in the process of selling the one house they’ve ever lived in together as a married couple (that’s 40+ years) and have already purchased their new home in F’burg, VA.  I can imagine it’s VERY hard to leave a home you’ve owned and loved for that long.  But cheers to new beginnings and a beautiful new home with even more space and less lawn maintenance.  🙂

Not only are my parents going along for the ride, but my brother Chris and his wife Jennifer already live in Richmond, VA which is about 45 minutes south of where we’ll be.  Not only are Chris and Jennifer Abby’s aunt and uncle, but they are her Godparents too.  I’m excited to be able to see them on a regular basis instead of just a few times a year.  Now my parents will have the privilege of being close to their son, daughter, granddaughter, and in-laws.  

So there you have it in a nutshell.  Peter and I have to sell our house (fun!) but in the meantime we’ll stay in a temporary home owned by the park service.  It’s a small ranch house in a woodsy development but it does the job and um, it’s free.  Peter began his new job back in June and drives home to PA on his days off.  I’ve been in PA with Miss Abby holding down the fort.  Eventually after we sell our PA house, we’ll focus on buying a permanent home in VA.  My parents are also selling their house in PA but they have already purchased their new home in VA in a small 55+ community.

I’ll be keeping my job as a pharmaceutical data analyst but working from home in VA full-time.  There are good things and bad things about working from home.  More on that later.  I’m just thankful to have a job and I’m looking forward to trying it out.

We will definitely miss our family and friends from Pennsylvania!  We will not be that far though and intend to come back to PA for visits and also for my work at times.  And we fully hope for and expect some visits down our way also! 

Hope you’ll enjoy following along in our adventures!  My time in PA is dwindling down!!

About virginiaisformaugles

My name is Jenn. I'm enjoying life in my thirties, being a mom to a beautiful and silly little girl, and happily married to my park ranger husband. We recently sold our house in Pennsylvania and moved to Virginia and bought a new home. I'm excited to get accustomed to our new home base and explore all the surrounding areas! I'm a pharma data analyst by day, a lullabye-singin' mommy by night. We also have a beagle named Sophie and a large-girthed cat named Nacho. Things I like: family togetherness, nature, hiking, movies, photography, reading, planning and organizing, exploring, music, biking, jogging, etc.

Posted on August 23, 2011, in Moving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

